In the summer of 2012, Sam Marsonek and several former MLB players started a ministry for amateur players to compete on travel teams throughout the summer and fall under the umbrella of SCORE Baseball. Typically one team per class from 14u-17u were based out of Tampa, Florida and players brought in from Latin America, Bahamas and Canada as well as around the state of Florida. Since the inaugural year, over 100 players has gone on to play collegiate baseball with nearly 50 signing professional contracts. In the summer of 2018 the transition was made to Baseball Country here in Jena and the name has since changed to Baseball Country Developmental Teams. The opportunity provided by BC is not only for players to compete at all the national events in Al, Ga and Florida but also to train year round at our facility both physically and most importantly spiritually. Throughout the summers, housing/meals are provided as well as transportation/hotels to and from events. Below is a list of notable names that have played for Sam:


Jacob Wright – Univ of Pittsburgh

Sam Machonis – Florida Southern/Detroit Tigers

Austin Leeney – Elon

Mike Korte – Lipscomb



Nick Eicholtz – Univ of Alabama

Brandon Brosher – NY Mets

Jacob Cordero – Arizona Diamondbacks

Eloy Jimenez – Chicago White Sox

Yenssy Diaz – Toronto Blue Jays



Alex Faedo – Univ of Florida/Detroit Tigers (1st Rd)

Kevin Merrell – Univ of South Florida/Oakland A’s (1st Rd)

Pedro Gonzalez – Texas Rangers

Carlos Espinal – New York Yankees

Levi Gilcrease – Baylor University

Diamond Johnson – Florida Atlantic

Cole Gordon – Mississippi State



Ben Pelletier – Philadelphia Phillies

Blake Hodgens – Penn State

Carson Ragsdale – Univ of South Florida

Reeves Martin – Univ of New Orleans

Nate Pearson – Toronto Blue Jays (1st Rd)

Gilberto Celestino – Minnesota Twins

Ronnie Brito – LA Dodgers



Saul Torres – New York Yankees

Michael Sandborn – Vanderbilt

Andrew Belcik – Notre Dame

Ryan Mejia – Florida State

Travis MacGregor – Pittsburgh Pirates (2nd Rd)

Chavez Young – Toronto Blue Jays



Spencer Myers – Notre Dame

PK Morris – Toronto Blue Jays

Tommy Mace – Univ of Florida

Duncan Hunter – Jacksonville Univ

CJ Van Eyk – Florida State

Dalton Wingo – Univ of Central Florida

Pablo Abreu – Milwaukee Brewers

Albert Suarez – LA Dodgers



Jamarcus Lyons – Univ of Central Florida

Duncan Pastore – Nova Southeastern

Jacob Phelps – Columbia

Franco Aleman – Florida International